Marketing in the Making

Marketing; Thoughts and Questions

Belated Anniversary

I believe this post is a bit overdue but believe it or not, I have had this blog for over a year. I seem to have missed the one-year. I want to do some reflecting…

But, first of all, I want to say thank you to all of you who take the time to read my blog.

I started out with lengthy posts which I learned from speaking to people and general blog statistics, that over about 300 words may be too long so I have been trying to cut my posts down ever since. I also learned that when you post pictures of common images like a world map or a thanksgiving turkey, it skews your blog view statistics. The images show up in Google image searches and when people click on them, I can’t tell if they are actually looking at my posts or just the image.

The next important aspect is comments. Comments mean the world to me. I love getting any and all comments and especially those from complete strangers. It means I was able to reach somebody new and encourage thought and conversation outside my circles. Going along with comments, whenever I get a new subscriber to my blog, I have a mini celebration. It means you look forward to my posts and want to be updated about whenever I post something new.

I already know a few things I need to work on for the coming year. Here are my resolutions:

1. Post more frequently (Lately I haven’t been doing the best job at posting on a consistent basis)

2. Interact with other bloggers through commenting on other blogs and referring to other blogs

3. Post more about news-worthy topics and commenting on events in the news

And last but most certainly not least, thank you again for taking the time to read my blog and comment on it. If you haven’t commented, I encourage you to do so. I would really like to hear all of your thoughts. If you have any suggestions for me as well, please don’t hesitate to tell me!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Belated Anniversary

  1. Sarah on said:

    Aw, your little baby is growing up so fast 🙂
    I actually find that I am less interested in shorter blog posts. I don’t know why, but I guess to me it seems that the shorter a blog is the less there is to say, so why post at all sort of thing. But that’s just me. I would also think pictures help you get more readers. Like in your past blog about colors, it’s what draws a viewer’s eye to your blog. If they are interested in your picture, they will more than likely also be interested in what you have to go along with it.
    And I’m going to add a #4 to your resolutions. Reply to the comments directly! Use the reply to button so we know when you reply, otherwise we (mainly I…) will not be proactive enough to check back to see if you did, at least not before you’ve already posted a new blog. Hehe, just a friendly suggestion 🙂
    Congrats and Happy Blogiversary!

    • Hi Sarah,
      Thank you so much for all of your support and commenting!
      Hmm, that is an interesting point about short posts, I will keep that in mind.
      I try to put in pictures when I can but sometimes I can’t think of or find a related picture. What kinds of pictures are you mostly attracted to? Animated or real or?
      That #4 is certainly necessary! I did that for this post here 🙂
      Thank you, again, Sarah!! It means a lot!!

      • I don’t know, I want to say real pictures (because it may make it seem more…credible?) But I guess when it comes down to it, it depends on what you’re writing about. Maybe you can even try adding your own creations!

  2. anncantrell on said:

    Congrats Annie! That is very exciting about your blog’s bday- congrats! I was just catching up on it. Meanwhile, I would like to say that I am all for shorter blog posts (everyone is different I guess…). People’s attention spans these days are dwindling (maybe exacerbated by the 140 characters of a twitter feed?!) and so if I see a long post, I tend to just skip it- sometimes with the intention of coming back to it later- which I never end up doing. And I agree with the pics. I read a lot of design blogs (and by “read” I mean look at all the pretty pics for inspiration), and their pics make everything so fun to look at. Not to mention you immediately know it’s been updated recently because of a slew of new pics. My point is though, that it might not be so relevant for your blog- but it’s still fun to incorporate into the text. Congrats! and thanks for all your help!

Leave a Reply

