Marketing in the Making

Marketing; Thoughts and Questions

What’s New Facebook?

I feel as though every time I sit down to write a post about a specific platform, it is always Facebook. I know I have written about others like Google Plus and Pinterest but, Facebook just keeps coming up in the news.

What is the latest you ask? Hmm… Let’s see… Facebook is now being traded on the NASDAQ, Mark Zuckerberg got married just days after Facebook went public, the new app called Airtime and of course the constantly changing privacy settings. Don’t worry, I will at least touch a little upon each of these.

As I was thinking about what to write for this post, I knew Facebook’s stock was almost a must but my only problem with that is I am not very knowledgeable about stocks. So, instead of trying to explain to you what is happening with Facebook’s, I will simply summarize so neither of us get confused. The starting price on day 1, May 18th was $38 and at close it was only $38.23. Since then the stock price has been less than amazing. Based on my research, investors are less than impressed but rather cautionary about their investment in Facebook. Because of this, Facebook is left with a lot of work to do to impress investors. Needless to say, I don’t see myself investing any money into Facebook anytime soon. Take a look at this article in The Economist to see what is happening and learn more.

Mark Zuckerberg apparently got married just one day after Facebook went public to Priscilla Chan… Personally, I would at least wait a week to get married after my multi-billion dollar company went public…but that’s just me. Really though, congratulations to the newlyweds!

Has anyone heard of this new app for Facebook that came out called Airtime? Well, it is similar to chat applications like Chatroulette and Omegle that connect you with other strangers using the application. The only difference here is that Airtime is through Facebook and the app connects people based on similar interests listed in your profile. Users can share videos with one another as well. You can also choose to be anonymous until you “add” each other and then you can determine additional privacy settings. I personally have not used this application yet, but a friend of mine has and seems to like it. She said she even spoke to one of the creators, Sean Parker…very cool! Please check it out and let me know what you think! I will try it too.

Facebook always seems to update their privacy settings, so I just feel that it is necessary to mention. A friendly reminder here to check your settings again to make sure you have all your bases covered.

As always, please make sure to comment! Maybe you could teach me about stocks and update us all about how Facebook is doing.


Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

